GeneralConsultation begins on proposed changes to Devon’s mobile service

Consultation begins on proposed changes to Devon’s mobile service

Devon County Council Mobile LibraryDevon County Council is launching a consultation with mobile library users, as proposals are considered which would remove underused stopping places from mobile routes, and reduce the frequency of the service, cutting the cost of the service by half. 

Approximately 5,100 people across Devon use the Council's fortnightly mobile library service in rural communities not served by a static library.   

Eight mobile libraries currently make 522 stops around Devon, stopping for between 20 minutes to 3 hours, but visitor figures show that 69 stops are significantly underused, with just three or fewer people using these stops. 


The Council is proposing to remove the stops from its service, affecting 160 mobile library users.  The remaining 4,900 users could see their frequency reduced from fortnightly to monthly stops, although borrowing times would be changed to reflect a new timetable. 

The council's home delivery service to residents who are disabled or who can no longer physically access library services would remain in place. 

The change would reduce the council's spending by £200,000 a year, contributing to the £110 million cuts the council faces over the next four years because of Government cuts to its funding.  

It would also reduce the council's mobile fleet by four vehicles, which are otherwise now due to be replaced. 

Six weeks of consultation starts this week with all mobile library users, as the council seeks to get people's views and understands the possible impact that the proposals may have. Once comments have been analysed, the Council hopes to make a decision in December with a view to introducing a change to the service in the new financial year.

The areas affected are

  • Cheldon Church  
  • Stone Moor Cross Sheepacre  
  • East Worlington Village Hall  
  • Drayford Cross  
  • Uffculme Markers  
  • East Anstey School  
  • East Knowstone The Smiths House  
  • Molland Wade Mill  
  • North Molton Hill  
  • Rose Ash  
  • Culmstock School  
  • Morchard Bishop War Memorial  
  • Poughill Green Hill  
  • Whitestone Merrymeet  
  • Shobrooke School Close  
  • Tween Moors Cross  
  • Clayhanger Church  
  • Holcombe Rogus Village centre  
  • Higher Chieflowman  
  • Crazelowman Post Box  
  • Westcott Little Cleeves  
  • Loxbeare Church  

A consultation questionnaire outlining both these proposals is being distributed to all Mobile Library users this week. The consultation will run until 30th November 2013.

The questionnaire is also available on our website at:

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

You have declined cookies. This decision can be reversed.

You have allowed cookies to be placed on your computer. This decision can be reversed.




Tiverton Town Council

Town Hall

St Andrew Street

Tiverton EX16 6PG

Tel: 01884 253404

Fax: 01884 258550

Opening Hours 9.00am – 4.00pm Mon – Fri

Town Clerk: Mr J Vanderwolfe

Assistant to the Town Clerk: Mrs C Oliphant

Clerical Assistant: Mrs J Hubbard


Go to top